Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers-Ninja Quest (fanedit)

mighty_morphin_power_rangers_logo_mmpr_tv_hd-wallpaper-1236336

Ah Ninja Quest, I fondly remember hearing stories about this one from my brother when he got to see the UK premier of the story on SKY ahead of me. I thought he was winding me up. Rita has a brother? The Thunderzords falling apart? A different origin for the Ninja Powers than the one established by the movie? He’d been known to tell porkies before, so I sort of brushed it all off until I saw it for myself at Easter on GMTV.

That sight of the Thunderzords being destroyed has stayed with me all my life, it was one of the best cliffhangers in the show’s history, and the scene stays with you cheifly because of that impeccable and emotional outcry from Amy Jo Johnson as the Rangers powers fail them. It was effective and stirring.

The other parts are great too, but they don’t quite have the same gut punch or high stakes the first instalment had.

I also remember renting the video one time in the summer of 1996. The only time I was able to catch it, and I enjoyed many an afternoon watching it.

Going back to it for an edit, I realized how that it could be shortened from four parts to just two.

To acheive this, you simply ¬†remove the ‘bulk’ of the Bulk and Skull junior police force recruitment storyline. Outside of one appearance at the beach from part one, we never see them again. I’ve seen a couple of great fanedits on Rangerboard.com that have managed to pack so much more action and stakes into their edits by removing Bulk and Skull from the narrative. Much as I love the lugheads, their prescense really stretches something out unnecessarily.

I was intially not going to bother leaving in Vampirus, and focus soley on Rito as the threat, but part two came out almost fifteen minutes shorter than the 30-minute or so part one. Even with the Vampirus elements added in again, it’s still about five minutes short.

But anyway, here you are, Ninja Quest as a two-parter. Hope you enjoy it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

